HUMBOLDT STATE UNIVERSITY SPONSORED PROGRAMS FOUNDATION EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

MINUTES

August 31, 2020 9:00-10:30am ZOOM Meeting ID: 917 8141 1898

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Dale Oliver
	Alison O'Dowd
	Brian Mistler
	Carly Marino
	Peter Alstone
	Jenn Capps

MEMBERS ABSENT:

OTHERS PRESENT:	Kacie Flynn, SPF
	Russell Gans, Mitchell Law Firm, LLP

I. Call to Order

Dale Oliver called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. Introductions were made. Russell Gans, HSU SPF's retained legal counsel, was present as a guest presenter.

II. Conference with Legal Counsel: Discuss/Consider initiation of litigation pursuant to Gov. Code § 54956.9(d)(4): (one potential case)

Dale explained that in the course of a public meeting when something of a sensitive nature may arise, State law allows and provides for the governing body to go into executive session or a "closed meeting." This means that everything said or done in executive session is confidential.

Action Item: Dale Oliver m/s Alison O'Dowd "Motion to go into Executive Session." Motion approved unanimously.

The Executive Committee conferred with HSU SPF legal counsel regarding potential litigation. Confidential/privileged direction provided to legal counsel.

Action Item: Dale Oliver m/s Alison O'Dowd "Motion to end Executive Session." Motion approved unanimously.

SPF Executive Committee Meeting August 31, 2020 Page 2

III. **Review Current Vacancies with Proposed Changes**

(Attachments A, B, & C)

The Executive Committee reviewed the vacancies with proposed changes for fiscal year 2020-2021 as outlined in Attachments B & C. Proposed slates for membership have been assembled from those who expressed interest in serving. Discussion ensued.

IV. Nominations of 2020-2021 Committee Members

The committee will submit the following slate of nominations at the Annual Meeting of the Board on September 29, 2020, for approval by the full board:

Executive Committee – Standing

Dale Oliver	President (Chair)
Peter Alstone	Vice President
Amber Gaffney	Secretary
Carly Marino	Treasurer
Jeff Kane	Chair, Finance Committee
C.D. Hoyle	Chair, Personnel Committee
Jenn Capps	Chair, Governance Committee

Audit Committee – Standing

Lynne Sandstrom (Non-Voting) Peter Alstone Amber Gaffney Jeff Kane C.D. Hoyle Jenn Capps

Finance Committee - Sequential Annual Appointments

Jeff Kane Pater Alstone Dale Oliver Tom Jackson Jason Ramos Carly Marino

Personnel Committee – Sequential Annual Appointments

C.D. Hoyle To Be Elected **Dale Oliver**

Faculty Director (Chair) Faculty Director **Ex-Officio** Director

HSU Controller Vice President (Chair)

Chair. Finance Committee

Faculty Director (Chair)

Faculty Director

Ex-Officio Director Community Director

President

Treasurer

Chair, Personnel Committee

Chair, Governance Committee

Secretary

Incentives Committee – Sequential Annual Appointments

Katia Karadjova C.D. Hoyle Amber Gaffney To Be Elected Jason Meriwether Amelia Towse Jason Ramos

Faculty Director (Chair) Faculty Director Faculty Director Faculty Director **Ex-Officio Director** Student Director **Community Director**

SPF Executive Committee Meeting August 31, 2020 Page 3

Governance Committee – Sequential Annual Appointments

Jenn Capps Dale Oliver Amber Gaffney Frank Whitlatch Jason Ramos Amber Gaffney Katia Karadjova Amelia Towse Ex-Officio Director (Chair) President Secretary Ex-Officio Director Community Director Faculty Director Faculty Director Student Director

Investment Committee – Ad Hoc Advisory Committee for the 403(b) Retirement Plan

Kacie Flynn (Non-Voting) Carly Marino Jeff Kane Jason Ramos SPF Executive Director (Chair) Treasurer Chair, Finance Committee Community Director

Action Item: Alison O'Dowd m/s Carly Marino "Motion to recommend the above slate of 20/21 Officers and Committee Members, for approval by the board." 4 Aye, 1 Abstention. Motion carried.

V. Other

VI. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 10:19 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

DocuSigned by: Dale Oliver

Dale Oliver